Marvel to Publish New Star Wars Comics in 2015

Star Wars #1 Marvel Comic Book from 1977Star Wars #1 Marvel Comic Book from 1977
 
Star Wars #1 Marvel Comic Book from 1977

Star Wars #1 Marvel Comic Book from 1977

As most of the Geek World knows by now, both the Star Wars franchise and Marvel Comics are owned by Disney.  That makes this little bit of news not overly surprising, but for fans of Star Wars and Marvel, the latest news is great! Marvel will again produce Star Wars comics and graphic novels beginning in 2015.  As the older Marvel and Star Wars fans may recall, the very first Star Wars comic book came out in 1977, (the year the first Star Wars movie came out), and sold very well.  Over one million copies of Star Wars #1 (pictured above), made it into the hands and collections of all true believers in The Force.  Marvel ran their Star Wars comics series for nine years.  In 1991, Lucasfilms partnered with Dark Horse Comics to put out trade paperbacks.  In 2013, Dark Horse put out The Star Wars #1, an adaptation of George Lucas' original rough-draft screenplay for the first Star Wars movie. With Disney set to produce Star Wars Episode VII in 2015, and other stand-alone films (Yoda?  Bobba Fett?), get ready for a lot more Star Wars action in terms of comics, books, films, action figures, and who knows what else. Is this a great time to be a Geek, or what?
Dark Horse Comics The Star Wars #1-2013

Dark Horse Comics The Star Wars #1-2013

  More on this new Star Wars News at Marvel.com: http://marvel.com/news/comics/2014/1/3/21703/lucasfilm_and_marvel_join_forces_to_publish_star_wars_comics#ixzz2pNHqFkBJ

About the Author

Roger Lee

Roger Lee is a life-long comic book and sci-fi aficionado. As such, he fell into the habit of writing about the superheroes and sci-fi scenarios that he reads in the comics and books and sees on screen. Since writings on superheroes need to be shared, he has written for web audiences for years. His writings have appeared on www.comicshistoryguy.com, www.comicbookmovie.com, www.bamsmackpow.com, and now in superheroreviews.com.

Be the first to comment on "Marvel to Publish New Star Wars Comics in 2015"

Leave a comment